ASHTON, Droylsden and Failsworth MP, Angela Rayner, this week welcomed the staff of property consultancy Saffer Cooper to their new home in the iconic Ashton Old Baths.

Saffer Cooper are relocating from their base in Stockport and bring with them 6 full time employees, 5 part time employees and the intention to take on a local modern apprentice as soon as possible. The presence of highly skilled staff will help to breathe new life in to the Ashton and wider Tameside economy, exactly as the re-development of the baths intended.

Local Labour MP, Angela Rayner, said, “I’ve long supported the investment that the Council has put in to this building. This latest move by Saffer Cooper shows that this was the right decision.

“With the building now more than half full and filling up fast it’s clear that Tameside is fast developing a reputation as a good place to do business.”

Saffer Cooper Director, Sean Stafford, added, “Ashton Old Baths offers office space and facilities unlike anything I’ve seen before. It’s a unique and remarkable building and will allow Saffer Cooper to grow and develop.

“The nature of our work means that it’s not just our employees that will be coming in to Ashton but people from housing associations across the whole region. I’m pleased to contribute to putting Ashton and Tameside on the map and truly grateful for Angela’s support with our move.”

Ashton Old Baths had been empty for more than 40 years until it was acquired by property developer Place First. It has recently undergone a £4million refurbishment which included contributions of £1million and £1.7million from the European Regional Development Fund and Heritage Lottery Fund respectively. The building has been converted in to unique high-quality office space available for shared workspace and short term lets.

Showing 1 reaction

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
  • commented 2017-06-13 07:30:15 +0100
    Absolutely fantastic that the old baths, where I learnt to swim, are finally finding a re-use. I hope it does not escape the good people of Ashton, that the refurbishment was supported to the tune of 1 million pounds, by the European Regional Development Fund. Why leave Europe when they support so many good things. Let´s not! Let´s open our eyes to Europe for the next generation who wish to travel, live and work in other places and bring their ideas home.

Promoted by Kieran Quinn on behalf of Angela Rayner.